What's On

Recent Acquisitions for the University of Dundee Museums

Recent Acquisitions for the University of Dundee Museums  Image
This exhibition showcases some of the most recent additions to the University of Dundee Museum Collections. Focusing on art and design, it also features objects relating to medicine and life sciences.

Among the highlights are:
Artworks acquired from graduating students at Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art and Design (DJCAD).

Designs from the former world-famous Dundee greetings card company Valentine and Sons.

Objects relating to drug discovery research.

Original comics art including work by DC Thomson artists Leo Baxendale, John Geering and Barrie Appleby.

One of four paintings by the former Head of Fine Art at DJCAD, Professor Alan Robb (1946-2020), gifted by his family.

Medical equipment used in neurosurgery and ophthalmology.

Examples from a large collection of drawings and designs for public art donated by sculptor and DJCAD alumnus David F Wilson.

A significant sculpture inspired by visionary thinker and polymath Patrick Geddes, donated by the artist Kenny Munro.

Opening times Monday to Friday 9.30am-7pm and Saturday 11am-4pm.

Information published by Leisure and Culture Dundee.
Free.
Promoted By: University of Dundee Museums
Dates
Friday 1st March 2024 9:30am
Saturday 2nd March 2024 11:00am
Monday 4th March 2024 9:30am
Tuesday 5th March 2024 9:30am
Wednesday 6th March 2024 9:30am
Thursday 7th March 2024 9:30am
Friday 8th March 2024 9:30am
Saturday 9th March 2024 11:00am
Monday 11th March 2024 9:30am
Tuesday 12th March 2024 9:30am
Wednesday 13th March 2024 9:30am
Thursday 14th March 2024 9:30am
Friday 15th March 2024 9:30am
Saturday 16th March 2024 11:00am
Monday 18th March 2024 9:30am
Tuesday 19th March 2024 9:30am
Wednesday 20th March 2024 9:30am
Thursday 21st March 2024 9:30am
Friday 22nd March 2024 9:30am
Saturday 23rd March 2024 11:00am
Monday 25th March 2024 9:30am
Tuesday 26th March 2024 9:30am
Wednesday 27th March 2024 9:30am
Thursday 28th March 2024 9:30am
Friday 29th March 2024 9:30am
Saturday 30th March 2024 11:00am
Monday 1st April 2024 9:30am