What's On

Designing Club Culture

Designing Club Culture  Image
Welcome to the club.

Night Fever: Designing Club Culture⿯is the first major exhibition exploring the relationship between club culture and design from the 1960s to today.

Delving into iconic clubs in New York, Paris, Florence, Manchester, London, Beirut, Berlin ' and towns and cities across Scotland ' the exhibition uncovers the progressive and subversive history of nightclub design, and its far-reaching influence on popular culture.

As spaces for adventure and escape, nightclubs have always encouraged experimental and radical design ' from Studio 54 to the Haçienda. Discover how architecture, art, fashion, graphics, lighting, performance and sound all come together to create an immersive sensory experience where design, music and technology meet on the dancefloor.

Night Fever: Designing Club Culture features an exclusive section on Scotland's unique and distinct club scene, revisiting legendary club nights from across the country. Explore how Scottish club culture is built on an ethos of DIY attitude, togetherness, humour, and a tightly knit network of DJs, clubs and promoters ' often holding closer ties to the music and influences of Detroit techno and Chicago house, than to neighbouring scenes south of the border.

Please note, this exhibition contains bright, flashing lights.

For those who might need a little extra support to enjoy Night Fever, we have created sensory backpacks for visitors with ASN and PMLD. If you like to use one as part of your visit to the exhibition, please email access@vandadundee.org or speak to a visitor assistant before entering the exhibition.

V&A Dundee is the only UK venue for Night Fever: Designing Club Culture, which was developed by the Vitra Design Museum and Design Museum Brussels.


Information published by Leisure and Culture Dundee.
£6-£12
Promoted By: V&A Dundee
Dates
Thursday 9th December 2021 10:00am
Friday 10th December 2021 10:00am
Saturday 11th December 2021 10:00am
Sunday 12th December 2021 10:00am
Monday 13th December 2021 10:00am
Tuesday 14th December 2021 10:00am
Wednesday 15th December 2021 10:00am
Thursday 16th December 2021 10:00am
Friday 17th December 2021 10:00am
Saturday 18th December 2021 10:00am
Sunday 19th December 2021 10:00am
Monday 20th December 2021 10:00am
Tuesday 21st December 2021 10:00am
Wednesday 22nd December 2021 10:00am
Thursday 23rd December 2021 10:00am
Friday 24th December 2021 10:00am
Monday 27th December 2021 10:00am
Tuesday 28th December 2021 10:00am
Wednesday 29th December 2021 10:00am
Thursday 30th December 2021 10:00am
Friday 31st December 2021 10:00am
Saturday 1st January 2022 10:00am
Sunday 2nd January 2022 10:00am
Monday 3rd January 2022 10:00am
Tuesday 4th January 2022 10:00am
Wednesday 5th January 2022 10:00am
Thursday 6th January 2022 10:00am
Friday 7th January 2022 10:00am
Saturday 8th January 2022 10:00am
Sunday 9th January 2022 10:00am
Venue
1 Riverside Esplanade
Dundee
DD1 4EZ
Map
Disabled AccessAccessible LiftsAssistance DogsDisabled ParkingHard of HearingWC Disabled
navigationNorthWestsoutheastzoominzoom out
Loading