What's On

What if...?/Scotland Exhibition

What if...?/Scotland Exhibition  Image
Designed to be staged in Venice as part of the 17th International Architecture Exhibition - La Biennale di Venezia, What if...?/Scotland responds to the Biennale's theme How will we live together?, seeking to re-engage the civic role of design professionals by asking communities from across Scotland to share their hopes and dreams for the future of the places they call home.

Community collaboration
At the start of 2020 and prior to the first nationwide lockdown, 7N paired 25 people from 5 places: Wester Hailes in Edinburgh, Paisley in Renfrewshire, Annan in Dumfries and Galloway, Elgin in Morayshire, and Lerwick in Shetland - with 25 designers, architects, and artists - to share their hopes, dreams or wishes for the future of the place where they live.

The architects and designers then used these wishes to begin exploring ideas in response to community challenges being faced. As we emerge from the latest lockdown, the notion of people in Scotland's communities coming together to plan for a better future has never been more important.

This collaborative process has been captured in a series of short films forming the narrative focus of the exhibition. The stories of each place, as told by its citizens and set within the rich and varied landscapes of rural and urban Scotland, are presented in an immersive environment designed for reflection and inspiration.

The exhibition at V&A Dundee will also engage with museum visitors about what they want the city of Dundee to look and feel like in the future, working together with designers, architects, and citizens throughout the duration of the show.

Museum opening hours: Thu to Mon, 10am-5pm. Please check COVID guidance before you book.

Information published by Leisure and Culture Dundee.
Free.
Promoted By: V&A Dundee
Dates
Thursday 21st October 2021 10:00am
Friday 22nd October 2021 10:00am
Saturday 23rd October 2021 10:00am
Sunday 24th October 2021 10:00am
Monday 25th October 2021 10:00am
Thursday 28th October 2021 10:00am
Friday 29th October 2021 10:00am
Saturday 30th October 2021 10:00am
Sunday 31st October 2021 10:00am
Monday 1st November 2021 10:00am
Thursday 4th November 2021 10:00am
Friday 5th November 2021 10:00am
Saturday 6th November 2021 10:00am
Sunday 7th November 2021 10:00am
Monday 8th November 2021 10:00am
Thursday 11th November 2021 10:00am
Friday 12th November 2021 10:00am
Saturday 13th November 2021 10:00am
Sunday 14th November 2021 10:00am
Monday 15th November 2021 10:00am
Thursday 18th November 2021 10:00am
Friday 19th November 2021 10:00am
Saturday 20th November 2021 10:00am
Sunday 21st November 2021 10:00am
Venue
1 Riverside Esplanade
Dundee
DD1 4EZ
Map
Disabled AccessAccessible LiftsAssistance DogsDisabled ParkingHard of HearingWC Disabled
navigationNorthWestsoutheastzoominzoom out
Loading