What's On

Night Fever: Designing Club Culture

Night Fever: Designing Club Culture Image
Opening 1 May 2021, Night Fever: Designing Club Culture⿯is the first major exhibition exploring the relationship between club culture and design from the 1960s to today.

Delving into iconic clubs in New York, Paris, Florence, Manchester, London, Beirut, Berlin ' and towns and cities across Scotland ' the exhibition uncovers the progressive and subversive history of nightclub design, and its far-reaching influence on popular culture.

As spaces for adventure and escape, nightclubs have always encouraged experimental and radical design ' from Studio 54 to the Haçienda. Discover how architecture, art, fashion, graphics, lighting, performance and sound all come together to create an immersive sensory experience where design, music and technology meet on the dancefloor.

Night Fever: Designing Club Culture features an exclusive section on Scotland's unique and distinct club scene, revisiting legendary club nights from across the country. Explore how Scottish club culture is built on an ethos of DIY attitude, togetherness, humour, and a tightly knit network of DJs, clubs and promoters ' often holding closer ties to the music and influences of Detroit techno and Chicago house, than to neighbouring scenes south of the border.

V&A Dundee is the only UK venue for Night Fever: Designing Club Culture, which was developed by the Vitra Design Museum and ADAM ' Brussels Design Museum.

#VADNightFever

Don't forget you must book your ticket in advance, whether for museum entry or Night Fever. Due to limited capacities we recommend booking now to secure your slot to avoid disappointment! Book Now

Night Fever: Designing Club Culture at V&A Dundee is supported by players of People's Postcode Lottery.

Image Credit:
Bill Bernstein, dance floor at Xenon, New York, 1979.
© Bill Bernstein / David Hill Gallery, London.



Information published by Leisure and Culture Dundee.
All entry to the museum now requires a ticket.
Booking Required
Promoted By: V&A Dundee
Dates
Thursday 21st October 2021 10:00am
Friday 22nd October 2021 10:00am
Saturday 23rd October 2021 10:00am
Sunday 24th October 2021 10:00am
Monday 25th October 2021 10:00am
Thursday 28th October 2021 10:00am
Friday 29th October 2021 10:00am
Saturday 30th October 2021 10:00am
Sunday 31st October 2021 10:00am
Monday 1st November 2021 10:00am
Thursday 4th November 2021 10:00am
Friday 5th November 2021 10:00am
Saturday 6th November 2021 10:00am
Sunday 7th November 2021 10:00am
Monday 8th November 2021 10:00am
Thursday 11th November 2021 10:00am
Friday 12th November 2021 10:00am
Saturday 13th November 2021 10:00am
Sunday 14th November 2021 10:00am
Monday 15th November 2021 10:00am
Thursday 18th November 2021 10:00am
Friday 19th November 2021 10:00am
Saturday 20th November 2021 10:00am
Sunday 21st November 2021 10:00am
Monday 22nd November 2021 10:00am
Thursday 25th November 2021 10:00am
Friday 26th November 2021 10:00am
Saturday 27th November 2021 10:00am
Sunday 28th November 2021 10:00am
Monday 29th November 2021 10:00am
Thursday 2nd December 2021 10:00am
Friday 3rd December 2021 10:00am
Saturday 4th December 2021 10:00am
Sunday 5th December 2021 10:00am
Monday 6th December 2021 10:00am
Thursday 9th December 2021 10:00am
Friday 10th December 2021 10:00am
Saturday 11th December 2021 10:00am
Sunday 12th December 2021 10:00am
Monday 13th December 2021 10:00am
Thursday 16th December 2021 10:00am
Friday 17th December 2021 10:00am
Saturday 18th December 2021 10:00am
Sunday 19th December 2021 10:00am
Monday 20th December 2021 10:00am
Thursday 23rd December 2021 10:00am
Friday 24th December 2021 10:00am
Thursday 30th December 2021 10:00am
Friday 31st December 2021 10:00am
Monday 3rd January 2022 10:00am
Thursday 6th January 2022 10:00am
Friday 7th January 2022 10:00am
Saturday 8th January 2022 10:00am
Sunday 9th January 2022 10:00am
Contact
Venue
1 Riverside Esplanade
Dundee
DD1 4EZ
Map
Disabled AccessAccessible LiftsAssistance DogsDisabled ParkingHard of HearingWC Disabled
navigationNorthWestsoutheastzoominzoom out
Loading