Designed by the architect William Burn, and built by the Duncan family in 1828, the House was named after the Battle of Camperdown.
It was at this battle that Admiral Adam Duncan, the Dundee-born naval hero, triumphed over the Dutch fleet in 1797. Duncan's victory in the battle saved Britain from invasion.
A hero overnight, Admiral Duncan was made Viscount of Camperdown and awarded a pension of £3000 a year - a fortune in this days. The family used the money to build the house. The house is currently closed to the public.
Camperdown Park is now part of the National Tree Collections of Scotland. This recognises the highest quality specimen tree collections in the country and is coordinated by Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh. In celebration of this achievement, a Camperdown Tree Trail was launched at the Dundee Flower and Food Festival in 2012. The trail highlights the park’s notable and provides interesting information on the park’s arboricultural history.
Explore Camperdown’s most impressive trees by downloading the Camperdown Tree Trail Leaflet (1.14MB PDF). You can also pick up a leaflet at the Rangers’ Office or Forestry Office in Camperdown Park