What's On

Sukaina Kubba

Sukaina Kubba Image
This major exhibition from Sukaina Kubba marks the artist’s first solo exhibition in a UK institution. Kubba is a multidisciplinary artist whose work is strongly rooted in material and cultural research, story-telling, and drawing connections. Kubba works with industrial and packaging materials, and explores traveling objects, textiles and vehicles as carriers of cross-cultural histories. Her practice spans the mediums of drawing, painting, printmaking, fibres, audio, video and installation, and explores narratives of cultural and material assimilation and appropriation.

The artist’s recent experimentation in producing work with materials derived from various petro-chemical processes (synthetic latex and rubber, PLA filament) led to rug-like, rolled textile/ installation objects. This in turn prompted Kubba to research Persian rugs which she had encountered through family and domestic encounters, fictional stories and collections, seeking to transmit narratives of the travel, trade and acquisition of rugs. Her work seeks to invoke the history of their origins, extraction, manufacture, packaging and trade; and the deployment of their textures and visual properties. Rugs - and textiles in general - more so than many artefacts, are intricately tied to a history of exchange and transport. It is in their nature to be rolled: they are nomadic units of architecture carried on the backs of horses, or in the bellies of shipping vessels, and unfurled to make familiar a home elsewhere. Kubba talks of the rugs that have followed her family and herself to numerous cities: Baghdad, London, Abu Dhabi, Montreal, Dubai, Glasgow and now Toronto. The Iraqi rugs in museum collections have followed a trajectory - from East to West - similar to that undertaken by the artist’s own family and the Iraqi diaspora.

Kubba’s exhibition will span both DCA gallery spaces and will bring together existing works with new commissions, including new works in print produced during a residency with DCA Print Studio in January 2024.

Opening Hours: Tue-Sun: 11am-6pm (7pm on Thurs).

Information published by Leisure and Culture Dundee.
Free.
Dates
Thursday 13th June 2024 11:00am
Friday 14th June 2024 11:00am
Saturday 15th June 2024 11:00am
Sunday 16th June 2024 11:00am
Tuesday 18th June 2024 11:00am
Wednesday 19th June 2024 11:00am
Thursday 20th June 2024 11:00am
Friday 21st June 2024 11:00am
Saturday 22nd June 2024 11:00am
Sunday 23rd June 2024 11:00am
Tuesday 25th June 2024 11:00am
Wednesday 26th June 2024 11:00am
Thursday 27th June 2024 11:00am
Friday 28th June 2024 11:00am
Saturday 29th June 2024 11:00am
Sunday 30th June 2024 11:00am
Tuesday 2nd July 2024 11:00am
Wednesday 3rd July 2024 11:00am
Thursday 4th July 2024 11:00am
Friday 5th July 2024 11:00am
Saturday 6th July 2024 11:00am
Sunday 7th July 2024 11:00am
Tuesday 9th July 2024 11:00am
Wednesday 10th July 2024 11:00am
Thursday 11th July 2024 11:00am
Friday 12th July 2024 11:00am
Saturday 13th July 2024 11:00am
Sunday 14th July 2024 11:00am
Tuesday 16th July 2024 11:00am
Wednesday 17th July 2024 11:00am
Thursday 18th July 2024 11:00am
Friday 19th July 2024 11:00am
Saturday 20th July 2024 11:00am
Sunday 21st July 2024 11:00am
Tuesday 23rd July 2024 11:00am
Wednesday 24th July 2024 11:00am
Thursday 25th July 2024 11:00am
Friday 26th July 2024 11:00am
Saturday 27th July 2024 11:00am
Sunday 28th July 2024 11:00am
Tuesday 30th July 2024 11:00am
Wednesday 31st July 2024 11:00am
Thursday 1st August 2024 11:00am
Friday 2nd August 2024 11:00am
Saturday 3rd August 2024 11:00am
Sunday 4th August 2024 11:00am
Venue
152 Nethergate
Dundee
DD1 4DY
01382 909 900
Disabled AccessAccessible LiftsAccess RampsAssistance DogsBaby ChangeDisabled ParkingLow CountersWC Disabled