What's On

Sunset Song

Sunset Song Image
Scotland's most loved literary heroine Chris Guthrie is brought to the stage in this thrilling, contemporary adaptation.

Faced with a choice between a harsh farming life and a world of learning, spirited Chris Guthrie chooses to remain in her rural community, bound by her deep love of the land. From harrowing family roots and crushing poverty, to stirring love and the awakening of self, Chris's coming-of-age journey to womanhood is one of enduring strength, persistent survival and joyful renewal. But everything changes with the arrival of the First World War when Chris finds her life altered beyond recognition. Exploring human resilience and the loss of a way of life, through a scorching female protagonist, Sunset Song has a profoundly lyrical intensity that echoes throughout the years and still resonates today.

Voted Best Scottish Book of all Time by the public in 2005, this revitalised and reimagined production brings together an award-winning Scottish creative team including writer Morna Young (Lost at Sea, The Stamping Ground), director Finn den Hertog (The Enemy, Square Go) and composer Finn Anderson (Islander, A Mother's Song) to tell this sweeping story of heart-breaking love, and a land and people in turmoil. With rich Scots language text, dynamic and physically charged staging, and raw and vivid live music, Sunset Song is a celebration of Lewis Grassic Gibbon's symphonic, astounding and ever relevant novel.

Information published by Leisure and Culture Dundee.
Promoted By: Dundee Rep Theatre in co-production with Royal Lyceum Theatre Edinburgh
Dates
Saturday 13th April 2024 7:30pm
Tuesday 16th April 2024 7:30pm
Wednesday 17th April 2024 7:30pm
Thursday 18th April 2024 7:30pm
Friday 19th April 2024 7:30pm
Saturday 20th April 2024 7:30pm
Tuesday 23rd April 2024 7:30pm
Wednesday 24th April 2024 7:30pm
Thursday 25th April 2024 2:30pm
Thursday 25th April 2024 7:30pm
Friday 26th April 2024 7:30pm
Saturday 27th April 2024 2:30pm
Saturday 27th April 2024 7:30pm
Tuesday 30th April 2024 7:30pm
Wednesday 1st May 2024 7:30pm
Thursday 2nd May 2024 2:30pm
Thursday 2nd May 2024 7:30pm
Friday 3rd May 2024 7:30pm
Saturday 4th May 2024 2:30pm
Saturday 4th May 2024 7:30pm
Contact
Venue
Tay Square
Dundee
DD1 1PB
01382 223530
Disabled AccessAccessible LiftsAccess RampsAssistance DogsHard of HearingWC Disabled