What's On

Dandelion: Cubes of Perpetual Light

Dandelion: Cubes of Perpetual Light Image
Dandelion is a creative celebration of growing, music, and community, taking place across Scotland in 2022.

Centred on sustainability, Dandelion is driven by the concept of 'Sow, Grow and Share' - on food, ideas, music, knowledge and community. In the museum, the project will feature an installation of 12 'cubes of perpetual light⿝ featuring specially commissioned music by a range of Scottish and international artists.

The cubes are miniature vertical farms that carry both a practical function and an aesthetic value.⿯ Whilst the cubes have been developed to specifically provide a controlled setting in which to use white light LEDs to enhance root, stem and leaf growth in vegetables and herbs, the control system can also enable a wide range of colour states to activate the cubes, artistically exploring their form as well as function.

This installation provides a space for contemplation and for us to imagine a future where we sow, grow and share differently.

There will be three other sites across Scotland hosting Cubes of Perpetual Light: Kelburn Castle, Edinburgh International Book Festival and Inverness Botanic Gardens. 12 new pieces of music have been commissioned to be heard solely at installations of the cubes by a selection of acclaimed artists including Grammy Award winners, Arooj Aftab and Craig Armstrong .
Free.
Promoted By: V&A Dundee
Dates
Wednesday 17th August 2022 10:00am
Thursday 18th August 2022 10:00am
Friday 19th August 2022 10:00am
Saturday 20th August 2022 10:00am
Sunday 21st August 2022 10:00am
Monday 22nd August 2022 10:00am
Wednesday 24th August 2022 10:00am
Thursday 25th August 2022 10:00am
Friday 26th August 2022 10:00am
Saturday 27th August 2022 10:00am
Sunday 28th August 2022 10:00am
Venue
1 Riverside Esplanade
Dundee
DD1 4EZ
Map
Disabled AccessAccessible LiftsAssistance DogsDisabled ParkingHard of HearingWC Disabled
navigationNorthWestsoutheastzoominzoom out
Loading