Douglas Gordon k.364

Douglas Gordon k.364 Image
Douglas Gordon is a Scottish artist who creates work that questions the complexities of memory and perception, both from an individual and collective position. This exhibition focuses on his major film installation k.364 and marks the premiere of this work in a public gallery in the UK.

k.364 features two Israeli musicians of Polish descent (Avri Levitan and Roi Shiloah) traveling to Poland from Berlin by train. Shown on multiple screens and with layered audio, the film follows the two men through a desolate landscape in a country whose tragic and violent history is barely resolved for them.

Gordon films the musicians on this personal journey, isolating intimate moments when their passionate love of music seems to move between them. Leaving Berlin, they first travel through Poznaſ, home of the celebrated Amadeus Chamber Orchestra. The journey concludes with the musicians' performance, at the Warsaw Philharmonic concert hall, of Mozart's Sinfonia Concertante in E-flat major (also known as Mozart's Köchel Composition k.364, from which the title of this piece is derived).

This work is an intimate document of the relationship between individuals and the power of music, against the subtly drawn backdrop of a dark and unresolved social history.

Image:
Installation view k.364, Gagosian, London©Studio, Studio lost but found/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2019. Photo by Studio lost but found/Frederik Pedersen. Image courtesy of Studio lost but found, Berlin and Gagosian, London

Information published by Leisure and Culture Dundee.
Free.
Dates
Tuesday 26th May 2020 10:00am
Wednesday 27th May 2020 10:00am
Thursday 28th May 2020 10:00am
Friday 29th May 2020 10:00am
Saturday 30th May 2020 10:00am
Sunday 31st May 2020 10:00am
Monday 1st June 2020 10:00am
Tuesday 2nd June 2020 10:00am
Wednesday 3rd June 2020 10:00am
Thursday 4th June 2020 10:00am
Friday 5th June 2020 10:00am
Saturday 6th June 2020 10:00am
Sunday 7th June 2020 10:00am
Monday 8th June 2020 10:00am
Tuesday 9th June 2020 10:00am
Wednesday 10th June 2020 10:00am
Thursday 11th June 2020 10:00am
Friday 12th June 2020 10:00am
Saturday 13th June 2020 10:00am
Sunday 14th June 2020 10:00am
Monday 15th June 2020 10:00am
Tuesday 16th June 2020 10:00am
Wednesday 17th June 2020 10:00am
Thursday 18th June 2020 10:00am
Friday 19th June 2020 10:00am
Saturday 20th June 2020 10:00am
Sunday 21st June 2020 10:00am
Monday 22nd June 2020 10:00am
Tuesday 23rd June 2020 10:00am
Wednesday 24th June 2020 10:00am
Thursday 25th June 2020 10:00am
Friday 26th June 2020 10:00am
Saturday 27th June 2020 10:00am
Sunday 28th June 2020 10:00am
Monday 29th June 2020 10:00am
Tuesday 30th June 2020 10:00am
Wednesday 1st July 2020 10:00am
Thursday 2nd July 2020 10:00am
Friday 3rd July 2020 10:00am
Saturday 4th July 2020 10:00am
Sunday 5th July 2020 10:00am
Monday 6th July 2020 10:00am
Tuesday 7th July 2020 10:00am
Wednesday 8th July 2020 10:00am
Thursday 9th July 2020 10:00am
Friday 10th July 2020 10:00am
Saturday 11th July 2020 10:00am
Sunday 12th July 2020 10:00am
Monday 13th July 2020 10:00am
Tuesday 14th July 2020 10:00am
Wednesday 15th July 2020 10:00am
Thursday 16th July 2020 10:00am
Friday 17th July 2020 10:00am
Saturday 18th July 2020 10:00am
Sunday 19th July 2020 10:00am
Contact
Dundee Contemporary Arts
01382 432444
Venue
152 Nethergate
Dundee
DD1 4DY
01382 909 900
Map
Disabled AccessAccessible LiftsAccess RampsAssistance DogsBaby ChangeDisabled ParkingLow CountersWC Disabled
navigationNorthWestsoutheastzoominzoom out
Loading