What's On

From Cox to Coccyx - 130 Years of Anatomy in Dundee

From Cox to Coccyx - 130 Years of Anatomy in Dundee Image
This fascinating new exhibition explores the history of Anatomy in the city. The Chair of Anatomy in Dundee was endowed by Thomas Hunter Cox of the jute family who owned Camperdown Works, and the first Anatomy teaching began here in 1888. This was a key milestone for the new University as it marked the first official step towards the creation of a Medical School in the city, which would eventually be realised in 1897.

The fortunes of the Anatomy department have fluctuated since then, and on at least two occasions it was threatened with closure, but today the Centre for Anatomy & Human Identification (CAHID) is internationally recognised for its work in anatomical and forensic science.

This exhibition looks at the history of Anatomy at the University, with a particular focus on the eight men and women who have held the Cox Chair over the past 130 years. Included in the exhibition are models, charts and other materials used in teaching students about the human body. It also explores the long connections between anatomy and art - from the Artistic Anatomy classes taught by the first Professor of Anatomy, Andrew Melville Paterson, up to the unique Medical and Forensic Art masters courses that the University offers today.

Information published by Leisure and Culture Dundee.

Free.
Promoted By: University of Dundee Museum Services
Dates
Wednesday 21st November 2018 9:30am
Thursday 22nd November 2018 9:30am
Friday 23rd November 2018 9:30am
Saturday 24th November 2018 1:00pm
Monday 26th November 2018 9:30am
Tuesday 27th November 2018 9:30am
Wednesday 28th November 2018 9:30am
Thursday 29th November 2018 9:30am
Friday 30th November 2018 9:30am
Saturday 1st December 2018 1:00pm
Monday 3rd December 2018 9:30am
Tuesday 4th December 2018 9:30am
Wednesday 5th December 2018 9:30am
Thursday 6th December 2018 9:30am
Friday 7th December 2018 9:30am
Saturday 8th December 2018 1:00pm
Monday 10th December 2018 9:30am
Tuesday 11th December 2018 9:30am
Wednesday 12th December 2018 9:30am
Thursday 13th December 2018 9:30am
Friday 14th December 2018 9:30am
Contact
navigationNorthWestsoutheastzoominzoom out
Loading