What's On

'Share the Love' Multicultural Art Exhibition

Share the Love Multicultural Art Exhibition Image
Families are welcome to this free Creative Scotland funded exhibition which highlights the cultural and economic contribution of Dundees diverse communities. A large scale mixed media artwork has been created featuring fabrics, textures and materials common to migrant communities across the city. A patchwork method has been developed using traditional textile techniques such as quilting, weaving, printing, transfers, stencils, embellishing and embroidery.The historic importance of Dundees links to other countries has been explored with the support of our heritage partner Verdant Works. Locally sourced jute material was used to create panels which were designed to include the stamps of companies involved in the jute trade worldwide. The various panels have been individually designed by young people from the Community Space in the Hilltown and pupils from both Harris Academy and St Johns High School. Each young person has chosen to represent an aspect of their own culture or their hopes for the future using symbolic imagery or text. Powerful images representing one young persons feelings about the conflict in their home country of Syria are also featured through self-portraits.

Information published by Leisure and Culture Dundee.

Free.
Promoted By: Arts and Communities Scotland
Dates
Monday 21st May 2018 10:00am
Tuesday 22nd May 2018 10:00am
Wednesday 23rd May 2018 10:00am
Thursday 24th May 2018 10:00am
Friday 25th May 2018 10:00am
Saturday 26th May 2018 10:00am
Sunday 27th May 2018 10:00am
Monday 28th May 2018 10:00am
Tuesday 29th May 2018 10:00am
Wednesday 30th May 2018 10:00am
Thursday 31st May 2018 10:00am
Contact
Neil Crutchley
07837559397
navigationNorthWestsoutheastzoominzoom out
Loading