What's On

Bash Street's Back At The McMenace!

Bash Streets Back At The McMenace!  Image
The McManus: Dundee's Art Gallery & Museum is celebrating the 80th birthday of Beano this summer. A special collaboration with DC Thomson's Beano Studios in an awesome exhibition 'Bash Street's Back at The McMenace' coming to Dundee, the world's capital of comics.

The exhibition is a fun and rebellious look at Beano at 80. The show takes in the history of DC Thomson as well as the story of printing and the birth of Beano. There is a special focus on the hilarious Bash Street Kids with their characteristic slapstick humour. Artists and writers who made up Beano's team and influenced the look and content throughout the years also feature. Alongside is an illustration of how a comic is put together and a glance at the eclectic mix of Beano merchandise that has hit the shelves over the past 80 years.

Featured in the show are objects from the DC Thomson archive and the city's collections. Included is a rare first edition Beano, traditional linotype machine and of course much loved Dennis the Menace fan club memorabilia.

The exhibition runs until Sunday 21 October, 2018. Admission FREE. Opening times: Mon to Sat 10am-5pm; Sun 12.30-4.30pm.

Follow us on:
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram

Information published by Leisure and Culture Dundee.

Free.
Promoted By: Leisure and Culture Dundee
Dates
Monday 20th August 2018 10:00am
Tuesday 21st August 2018 10:00am
Wednesday 22nd August 2018 10:00am
Thursday 23rd August 2018 10:00am
Friday 24th August 2018 10:00am
Saturday 25th August 2018 10:00am
Sunday 26th August 2018 12:30pm
Monday 27th August 2018 10:00am
Tuesday 28th August 2018 10:00am
Wednesday 29th August 2018 10:00am
Thursday 30th August 2018 10:00am
Friday 31st August 2018 10:00am
Saturday 1st September 2018 10:00am
Sunday 2nd September 2018 12:30pm
Monday 3rd September 2018 10:00am
Tuesday 4th September 2018 10:00am
Wednesday 5th September 2018 10:00am
Thursday 6th September 2018 10:00am
Friday 7th September 2018 10:00am
Saturday 8th September 2018 10:00am
Sunday 9th September 2018 12:30pm
Monday 10th September 2018 10:00am
Tuesday 11th September 2018 10:00am
Wednesday 12th September 2018 10:00am
Thursday 13th September 2018 10:00am
Friday 14th September 2018 10:00am
Saturday 15th September 2018 10:00am
Sunday 16th September 2018 12:30pm
Monday 17th September 2018 10:00am
Tuesday 18th September 2018 10:00am
Wednesday 19th September 2018 10:00am
Thursday 20th September 2018 10:00am
Friday 21st September 2018 10:00am
Saturday 22nd September 2018 10:00am
Sunday 23rd September 2018 12:30pm
Monday 24th September 2018 10:00am
Tuesday 25th September 2018 10:00am
Wednesday 26th September 2018 10:00am
Thursday 27th September 2018 10:00am
Friday 28th September 2018 10:00am
Saturday 29th September 2018 10:00am
Sunday 30th September 2018 12:30pm
Monday 1st October 2018 10:00am
Tuesday 2nd October 2018 10:00am
Wednesday 3rd October 2018 10:00am
Thursday 4th October 2018 10:00am
Friday 5th October 2018 10:00am
Saturday 6th October 2018 10:00am
Sunday 7th October 2018 12:30pm
Monday 8th October 2018 10:00am
Tuesday 9th October 2018 10:00am
Wednesday 10th October 2018 10:00am
Thursday 11th October 2018 10:00am
Friday 12th October 2018 10:00am
Saturday 13th October 2018 10:00am
Sunday 14th October 2018 12:30pm
Monday 15th October 2018 10:00am
Tuesday 16th October 2018 10:00am
Wednesday 17th October 2018 10:00am
Thursday 18th October 2018 10:00am
Friday 19th October 2018 10:00am
Saturday 20th October 2018 10:00am
Sunday 21st October 2018 12:30pm
Contact
The McManus: Dundee’s Art Gallery & Museum
(01382) 307200
navigationNorthWestsoutheastzoominzoom out
Loading