What's On

Eve Fowler

Eve Fowler Image
DCA is delighted to be presenting the first major European exhibition of American artist Eve Fowler's work during the summer of 2018. Having exhibited widely over the past two decades in the US, Fowler is one of the most significant artists of her generation, using art and language to disrupt and unsettle the dominant power structures that control much of the world around us.

This exhibition will reflect and further expand on the artist's intense and intimate feminist engagement with the words of Gertrude Stein over the past eight years. Since 2010, Fowler has created an immensely beautiful body of work centred on Stein's expansive writing practice, taking the form of posters, prints, billboards, paintings, and installations employing materials such as vinyl, neon, collage, print, painting and film. In speaking about the artist and her linguistic obsession, writer Litia Perta has commented that 'across a distance of nearly a century, Fowler's work literally commingles with Stein's: gets close to it, pulls strands out, knits phrases back in, asks us to be near it, to think toward it."

Fowler's work will fill DCA's expansive galleries over the summer and also reach beyond the walls of the institution to appear in public spaces across Dundee and further afield, punctuating and queering the Scottish landscape with Stein's prescient words.

There will also be a significant new publication produced as part of the project, gathering together a new community of artistic voices to develop texts and poetic responses to Eve's work.

Information published by Leisure and Culture Dundee.


Dates
Tuesday 19th June 2018 10:00am
Wednesday 20th June 2018 10:00am
Thursday 21st June 2018 10:00am
Friday 22nd June 2018 10:00am
Saturday 23rd June 2018 10:00am
Sunday 24th June 2018 10:00am
Monday 25th June 2018 10:00am
Tuesday 26th June 2018 10:00am
Wednesday 27th June 2018 10:00am
Thursday 28th June 2018 10:00am
Friday 29th June 2018 10:00am
Saturday 30th June 2018 10:00am
Sunday 1st July 2018 10:00am
Monday 2nd July 2018 10:00am
Tuesday 3rd July 2018 10:00am
Wednesday 4th July 2018 10:00am
Thursday 5th July 2018 10:00am
Friday 6th July 2018 10:00am
Saturday 7th July 2018 10:00am
Sunday 8th July 2018 10:00am
Monday 9th July 2018 10:00am
Tuesday 10th July 2018 10:00am
Wednesday 11th July 2018 10:00am
Thursday 12th July 2018 10:00am
Friday 13th July 2018 10:00am
Saturday 14th July 2018 10:00am
Sunday 15th July 2018 10:00am
Monday 16th July 2018 10:00am
Tuesday 17th July 2018 10:00am
Wednesday 18th July 2018 10:00am
Thursday 19th July 2018 10:00am
Friday 20th July 2018 10:00am
Saturday 21st July 2018 10:00am
Sunday 22nd July 2018 10:00am
Monday 23rd July 2018 10:00am
Tuesday 24th July 2018 10:00am
Wednesday 25th July 2018 10:00am
Thursday 26th July 2018 10:00am
Friday 27th July 2018 10:00am
Saturday 28th July 2018 10:00am
Sunday 29th July 2018 10:00am
Monday 30th July 2018 10:00am
Tuesday 31st July 2018 10:00am
Wednesday 1st August 2018 10:00am
Thursday 2nd August 2018 10:00am
Friday 3rd August 2018 10:00am
Saturday 4th August 2018 10:00am
Sunday 5th August 2018 10:00am
Monday 6th August 2018 10:00am
Tuesday 7th August 2018 10:00am
Wednesday 8th August 2018 10:00am
Thursday 9th August 2018 10:00am
Friday 10th August 2018 10:00am
Saturday 11th August 2018 10:00am
Sunday 12th August 2018 10:00am
Monday 13th August 2018 10:00am
Tuesday 14th August 2018 10:00am
Wednesday 15th August 2018 10:00am
Thursday 16th August 2018 10:00am
Friday 17th August 2018 10:00am
Saturday 18th August 2018 10:00am
Sunday 19th August 2018 10:00am
Monday 20th August 2018 10:00am
Tuesday 21st August 2018 10:00am
Wednesday 22nd August 2018 10:00am
Thursday 23rd August 2018 10:00am
Friday 24th August 2018 10:00am
Saturday 25th August 2018 10:00am
Sunday 26th August 2018 10:00am
Venue
152 Nethergate
Dundee
DD1 4DY
01382 909 900
Map
Disabled AccessAccessible LiftsAccess RampsAssistance DogsBaby ChangeDisabled ParkingLow CountersWC Disabled
navigationNorthWestsoutheastzoominzoom out
Loading