1 PRISON VISITING COMMITTEES - HMP PERTH AND HMP OPEN ESTATE (AN177-2007)

Reference is made to the Statutory Meeting of Dundee City Council held on 24th May 2007, wherein it was remitted to the Depute Chief Executive (Support Services) to establish with the groups which nominations they would wish to be put forward for the vacancies existing on HMP Perth and HMP Open Estate Visiting Committees.

Membership of HMP Perth should consist of nine members, at least three of whom must be non-Councillor members, and membership of HMP Open Estate should consist of six members at least two of whom must be non-Councillor members.

Mr Trevor Bailey, Councillor Peter Douglas, Mr Gordon Samson and Mr J Derry Fleming, former non-elected member representatives, have indicated that they are willing to continue service on Perth Prison Visiting Committee. Mr George de Gernier and Mr Charles Hebenton, former non-elected member representatives have indicated that they are willing to continue service on HMP Open Estate.

Mr Neil I C Powrie, Association Convener of Prison Visiting Committees and former elected member representative on Prison Visiting Committees for Castle Huntly, Noranside and Perth has also indicated that he would be willing to continue service on both Prison Visiting Committees and therefore corresponding non-Councillor vacancies which he may fill.

The City Council is asked to note these nominations and remit to the Groups to forward further Councillor or non-Councillor nominations to the Depute Chief Executive (Support Services) to fill the necessary vacancies (4 for Perth, 3 for Open Estate).