What's On

Jasmina Cibic and The Pleasure of Expense

Jasmina Cibic and The Pleasure of Expense Image
A major solo exhibition of new works by award-winning Slovenian artist Jasmina Cibic, internationally lauded since representing Slovenia at the 55th Venice Biennial 2013. The exhibition at Cooper Gallery choreographs film, sculpture, photography, textile, performance and archives into a provocative mediation on the aesthetics and gestures underscoring contemporary politics and international relations. With 2019 marking one hundred years since the founding of the League of Nations and haunted by the uncertainties of Brexit and concurrent shifts in global power, The Pleasure of Expense is a timely dissecting of statecraft and the concept of the political gift the donation of artistic, architectural, political or philosophical thoughts to ideological structures. The exhibition is expanded upon by an Event Series that includes Brechtian theatre workshops and feminist reading groups and will culminate in an international symposium, the 12-Hour Non-State Parade. Setting in motion a creative and critical mass of practitioners from contemporary art, critical theory and social activism, The Pleasure of Expense will found a shared imaginary that unpacks, subverts and proclaims an alternative to the hegemonic cultural spectacle embodied by the state.

Information published by Leisure and Culture Dundee.
Free.
Promoted By: Cooper Gallery
Dates
Friday 18th October 2019 10:00am
Saturday 19th October 2019 11:00am
Monday 21st October 2019 10:00am
Tuesday 22nd October 2019 10:00am
Wednesday 23rd October 2019 10:00am
Thursday 24th October 2019 10:00am
Friday 25th October 2019 10:00am
Saturday 26th October 2019 11:00am
Monday 28th October 2019 10:00am
Tuesday 29th October 2019 10:00am
Wednesday 30th October 2019 10:00am
Thursday 31st October 2019 10:00am
Friday 1st November 2019 10:00am
Saturday 2nd November 2019 11:00am
Monday 4th November 2019 10:00am
Tuesday 5th November 2019 10:00am
Wednesday 6th November 2019 10:00am
Thursday 7th November 2019 10:00am
Friday 8th November 2019 10:00am
Saturday 9th November 2019 11:00am
Monday 11th November 2019 10:00am
Tuesday 12th November 2019 10:00am
Wednesday 13th November 2019 10:00am
Thursday 14th November 2019 10:00am
Friday 15th November 2019 10:00am
Saturday 16th November 2019 11:00am
Monday 18th November 2019 10:00am
Tuesday 19th November 2019 10:00am
Wednesday 20th November 2019 10:00am
Thursday 21st November 2019 10:00am
Friday 22nd November 2019 10:00am
Saturday 23rd November 2019 11:00am
Monday 25th November 2019 10:00am
Tuesday 26th November 2019 10:00am
Wednesday 27th November 2019 10:00am
Thursday 28th November 2019 10:00am
Friday 29th November 2019 10:00am
Saturday 30th November 2019 11:00am
Monday 2nd December 2019 10:00am
Tuesday 3rd December 2019 10:00am
Wednesday 4th December 2019 10:00am
Thursday 5th December 2019 10:00am
Friday 6th December 2019 10:00am
Saturday 7th December 2019 11:00am
Monday 9th December 2019 10:00am
Tuesday 10th December 2019 10:00am
Wednesday 11th December 2019 10:00am
Thursday 12th December 2019 10:00am
Friday 13th December 2019 10:00am
Saturday 14th December 2019 11:00am
Venue
Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art
13 Perth Road
Dundee
DD1 4HT
01382 385330
Map
Assistance DogsDisabled Parking
navigationNorthWestsoutheastzoominzoom out
Loading