What's On

Art for All - The Pioneering Story of Public Art in Dundee

Art for All - The Pioneering Story of Public Art in Dundee Image
Dundee has an exceptional collection of over 500 sculptures, murals, mosaics and other forms of public art. Since 2018, the University of Dundee Museum Services have been leading a major project to research, catalogue and promote this unique resource. This exhibition showcases photographs of artworks past and present as well as unique behind-the-scenes material such as models, design sketches and installation images.

In particular, the exhibition explores the pioneering history of the Blackness Public Art Programme of the early 1980s, which attracted international attention for its ground-breaking approach. This marked the beginning of the local council's investment in culture-led regeneration, which has continued to this day. Its success led to the expansion of the scheme to become the Dundee Public Art Programme. This was the first city-wide programme of public art in the country and would remain the largest programme in Scotland throughout its existence.

The Public Art Dundee project has been led by the University of Dundee with support from Dundee City Council, the Menzieshill Photography Group, Art UK and Historic Environment Scotland.

Opening hours:- Mon-Fri 9.30am-7pm and Sat 1-5pm.

The exhibition will be accompanied by a series of talks, tours and workshops, including:

  • Sat 24 Aug, 2.30pm - City Centre tour featuring artist David F Wilson - meet in the Lamb Gallery.

  • Sun 1 Sept, 2.30pm - Stobswell tour - meet outside Arthurstone Community Library.

  • Sun 8 Sept, 2.30pm - Lochee tour - meet outside Lochee Community Library.

  • Wed 11 Sept, 6.30pm - Talk by curator Matthew Jarron on the history of public art in Dundee, in association with Abertay Historical Society - Lecture Theatre 2, Dalhousie Building, University of Dundee.

  • Sun 15 Sept, 11am - Broughty Ferry tour - meet outside Broughty Ferry Library.

  • Sat 21 Sept, 11am - Hilltown tour - meet at the back entrance to Dundee Central Library, Victoria Road.

  • Sat 5 Oct - workshop with artist J Keith Donnelly (details tbc).

  • Fri 18 Oct, 2.30pm - Blackness tour in association with Festival of the Future - meet in the Lamb Gallery.

  • Sat 26 Oct, 10am-5pm - study day featuring talks by artists and researchers (details tbc).

Information published by Leisure and Culture Dundee.
Promoted By: University of Dundee
Dates
Friday 23rd August 2019 9:30am
Saturday 24th August 2019 1:00pm
Monday 26th August 2019 9:30am
Tuesday 27th August 2019 9:30am
Wednesday 28th August 2019 9:30am
Thursday 29th August 2019 9:30am
Friday 30th August 2019 9:30am
Saturday 31st August 2019 1:00pm
Monday 2nd September 2019 9:30am
Tuesday 3rd September 2019 9:30am
Wednesday 4th September 2019 9:30am
Thursday 5th September 2019 9:30am
Friday 6th September 2019 9:30am
Saturday 7th September 2019 1:00pm
Monday 9th September 2019 9:30am
Tuesday 10th September 2019 9:30am
Wednesday 11th September 2019 9:30am
Thursday 12th September 2019 9:30am
Friday 13th September 2019 9:30am
Saturday 14th September 2019 1:00pm
Monday 16th September 2019 9:30am
Tuesday 17th September 2019 9:30am
Wednesday 18th September 2019 9:30am
Thursday 19th September 2019 9:30am
Friday 20th September 2019 9:30am
Saturday 21st September 2019 1:00pm
Monday 23rd September 2019 9:30am
Tuesday 24th September 2019 9:30am
Wednesday 25th September 2019 9:30am
Thursday 26th September 2019 9:30am
Friday 27th September 2019 9:30am
Saturday 28th September 2019 1:00pm
Monday 30th September 2019 9:30am
Tuesday 1st October 2019 9:30am
Wednesday 2nd October 2019 9:30am
Thursday 3rd October 2019 9:30am
Friday 4th October 2019 9:30am
Saturday 5th October 2019 1:00pm
Monday 7th October 2019 9:30am
Tuesday 8th October 2019 9:30am
Wednesday 9th October 2019 9:30am
Thursday 10th October 2019 9:30am
Friday 11th October 2019 9:30am
Saturday 12th October 2019 1:00pm
Monday 14th October 2019 9:30am
Tuesday 15th October 2019 9:30am
Wednesday 16th October 2019 9:30am
Thursday 17th October 2019 9:30am
Friday 18th October 2019 9:30am
Saturday 19th October 2019 1:00pm
Monday 21st October 2019 9:30am
Tuesday 22nd October 2019 9:30am
Wednesday 23rd October 2019 9:30am
Thursday 24th October 2019 9:30am
Friday 25th October 2019 9:30am
Saturday 26th October 2019 1:00pm
Venue
1st Floor, Tower Building
Nethergate
Dundee
DD1 4HN
01382 385330
Map
Disabled AccessAccessible LiftsAccess RampsAutomatic DoorsAssistance DogsBaby ChangeDisabled ParkingWC Disabled
navigationNorthWestsoutheastzoominzoom out
Loading