What's On

Videogames: Design/Play/Disrupt

Videogames: Design/Play/Disrupt Image
Scotland's first design museum will celebrate the design and culture of contemporary videogames with the exhibition Videogames: Design/Play/Disrupt, a spectacular show running from 20 April to 8 September 2019. This is the first exhibition to fully consider the complexity of contemporary videogames, positioning them as one of the most important design fields of our time. Today there are an estimated 2.2 billion people who play videogames worldwide, from commuters playing on mobile phones to eSports professionals watched by millions of spectators.

This ground-breaking exhibition focuses on videogames designed and developed since the mid-2000s when major technological advancements transformed the way games are designed, discussed and played. From multi-million-dollar blockbuster titles to smaller independent games and the work of DIY artists from a hacker/maker culture, the exhibition explores current international debates as well as the creative contributions made to game culture by the players themselves.

At V&A Dundee the exhibition will include a major new commission from Glasgow-based illustrator Ursula Kam-Ling Cheng, who is creating a colourful and chaotic mural inspired by virtual worlds. Videogames designed by Abertay University lecturer Niall Moody (Hummingbird) and Abertay graduate Llaura McGee (If Found by DREAMFEEL) will also be showcased, housed in bespoke arcade cabinets designed by Edinburgh studio We Throw Switches.

In delving deeper into the complex design process of this fascinating medium, the exhibition encourages all visitors both expert and novice players alike ' to be playful, and this theme will be explored much further in the exhibition's wide-ranging programme. Including a conference, a Tay Late, talks, workshops, digital demos and a games jam, there will be something for everyone.

Videogames: Design/Play/Disrupt was curated by Marie Foulston, V&A Curator of Videogames and Kristian Volsing, V&A Research Curator, and shown at V&A South Kensington from 8 September 2018 to 24 February 2019.

Image Credit:
Pippin Barr, 2015.
A Series of Gunshots
A Series of Gunshots confronts you with pared-back images of buildings or residential settings. Pressing any key produces a gunshot sound and flash of light from a window. The pause before the game fades out and back in to the next scene invites a moment of reflection.


Information published by Leisure and Culture Dundee.
Dates
Thursday 18th July 2019 10:00am
Friday 19th July 2019 10:00am
Saturday 20th July 2019 10:00am
Sunday 21st July 2019 10:00am
Monday 22nd July 2019 10:00am
Tuesday 23rd July 2019 10:00am
Wednesday 24th July 2019 10:00am
Thursday 25th July 2019 10:00am
Friday 26th July 2019 10:00am
Saturday 27th July 2019 10:00am
Sunday 28th July 2019 10:00am
Monday 29th July 2019 10:00am
Tuesday 30th July 2019 10:00am
Wednesday 31st July 2019 10:00am
Thursday 1st August 2019 10:00am
Friday 2nd August 2019 10:00am
Saturday 3rd August 2019 10:00am
Sunday 4th August 2019 10:00am
Monday 5th August 2019 10:00am
Tuesday 6th August 2019 10:00am
Wednesday 7th August 2019 10:00am
Thursday 8th August 2019 10:00am
Friday 9th August 2019 10:00am
Saturday 10th August 2019 10:00am
Sunday 11th August 2019 10:00am
Monday 12th August 2019 10:00am
Tuesday 13th August 2019 10:00am
Wednesday 14th August 2019 10:00am
Thursday 15th August 2019 10:00am
Friday 16th August 2019 10:00am
Saturday 17th August 2019 10:00am
Sunday 18th August 2019 10:00am
Monday 19th August 2019 10:00am
Tuesday 20th August 2019 10:00am
Wednesday 21st August 2019 10:00am
Thursday 22nd August 2019 10:00am
Friday 23rd August 2019 10:00am
Saturday 24th August 2019 10:00am
Sunday 25th August 2019 10:00am
Monday 26th August 2019 10:00am
Tuesday 27th August 2019 10:00am
Wednesday 28th August 2019 10:00am
Thursday 29th August 2019 10:00am
Friday 30th August 2019 10:00am
Saturday 31st August 2019 10:00am
Sunday 1st September 2019 10:00am
Monday 2nd September 2019 10:00am
Tuesday 3rd September 2019 10:00am
Wednesday 4th September 2019 10:00am
Thursday 5th September 2019 10:00am
Friday 6th September 2019 10:00am
Saturday 7th September 2019 10:00am
Sunday 8th September 2019 10:00am
Contact
V&A Dundee
01382 411 611
Venue
1 Riverside Esplanade
Dundee
DD1 4EZ
Map
Disabled AccessAccessible LiftsAssistance DogsDisabled ParkingHard of HearingWC Disabled
navigationNorthWestsoutheastzoominzoom out
Loading