What's On

Shonky: the Aesthetics of Awkwardness

Shonky: the Aesthetics of Awkwardness Image
We're thrilled to be bringing the Hayward Curatorial Open to Scotland for the first time, staging a major group project curated by artist John Walter in our galleries at DCA.

This exhibition aims to explore the nature of visual awkwardness through the work of artists and architects Arakawa and Gins, Cosima von Bonin, Niki de Saint Phalle, Benedict Drew, Justin Favela, Duggie Fields, Louise Fishman, Friedensreich Hundertwasser, Kate Lepper, Andrew Logan, Plastique Fantastique, Jacolby Satterwhite, Tim Spooner and John Walter.

Shonky is a slang term meaning corrupt or bent, shoddy or unreliable, standing here for a particular type of visual aesthetic that is hand-made, deliberately clumsy and lo-fi, against the slick production values of much contemporary art. The exhibition proposes a more celebratory definition of 'shonkiness', showing how it can be used for critical purposes in the visual arts to explore issues including gender, identity, beauty and the body.

By drawing together artists and architects whose work has not previously been exhibited together or discussed within the same context, Shonky will allow for new ways of thinking that privilege shonkiness over other aesthetic forms that have dominated recent visual culture.

Shonky is the fourth in Hayward Touring's series of Curatorial Open exhibitions, working in partnership with DCA, the MAC, Belfast, and Bury Art Museum and Sculpture Centre to choose and develop this ambitious proposal. This is an initiative that places collaboration at its heart, whilst aiming to nurture curatorial talent and to expand the parameters of the contemporary curatorial landscape.

Information published by Leisure and Culture Dundee.


Free.
Dates
Saturday 21st April 2018 10:00am
Sunday 22nd April 2018 10:00am
Monday 23rd April 2018 10:00am
Tuesday 24th April 2018 10:00am
Wednesday 25th April 2018 10:00am
Thursday 26th April 2018 10:00am
Friday 27th April 2018 10:00am
Saturday 28th April 2018 10:00am
Sunday 29th April 2018 10:00am
Monday 30th April 2018 10:00am
Tuesday 1st May 2018 10:00am
Wednesday 2nd May 2018 10:00am
Thursday 3rd May 2018 10:00am
Friday 4th May 2018 10:00am
Saturday 5th May 2018 10:00am
Sunday 6th May 2018 10:00am
Monday 7th May 2018 10:00am
Tuesday 8th May 2018 10:00am
Wednesday 9th May 2018 10:00am
Thursday 10th May 2018 10:00am
Friday 11th May 2018 10:00am
Saturday 12th May 2018 10:00am
Sunday 13th May 2018 10:00am
Monday 14th May 2018 10:00am
Tuesday 15th May 2018 10:00am
Wednesday 16th May 2018 10:00am
Thursday 17th May 2018 10:00am
Friday 18th May 2018 10:00am
Saturday 19th May 2018 10:00am
Sunday 20th May 2018 10:00am
Monday 21st May 2018 10:00am
Tuesday 22nd May 2018 10:00am
Wednesday 23rd May 2018 10:00am
Thursday 24th May 2018 10:00am
Friday 25th May 2018 10:00am
Saturday 26th May 2018 10:00am
Sunday 27th May 2018 10:00am
Contact
Dundee Contemporary Arts Cinema
01382 909 900
Venue
152 Nethergate
Dundee
DD1 4DY
01382 909 900
Map
Disabled AccessAccessible LiftsAccess RampsAssistance DogsBaby ChangeDisabled ParkingLow CountersWC Disabled
navigationNorthWestsoutheastzoominzoom out
Loading